Cricket’s Yips ’n Tips: Who does my donation help?

Michaelle Fleamvil carries supplies distributed by the American Red Cross at Croix Desprez. She is helped by Red Cross worker Matt Marek. January 20, 2010. Photo: Talia Frenkel/American Red Cross

Like many of you, I was moved to make a donation to the American Red Cross when I saw the devastation of the earthquake in Haiti last month. Now when I see the stories about the recovery on the evening news, I can’t help wondering how the Red Cross spent my donation. So I did some research and this is what I found out.

The American Red Cross:

  • Is producing more than 1 million liters of water per day, enough for 300,000 people
  • Operates water distribution points in 100 settlements
  • Has built sanitation facilities in 8 settlements
  • Distributed food and relief items (blankets, kitchen sets, hygiene kits, buckets, water containers, laundry detergent and mosquito nets) to nearly 170,000 people so far

More than 76 flights carrying Red Cross aid from around the world have arrived in the Dominican Republic or Haiti. I feel like I made a difference knowing that the American Red Cross turned my donation into a blanket, vaccination or a meal for someone in need. I’m glad I gave my allowance to the Red Cross – instead of spending it on another chew toy.

Visit our online newsroom for the latest on relief efforts.

Leave a Reply

