Top 10 Ways to Stay Safe While Traveling for Vacation

American Red Cross Certified Lifeguard.

Writen by Emma Headley

Summertime is here and I’m sure many of you are already planning your vacations. I’ve already got plans to go to Cedar Point and Put-in-Bay with my girlfriends in late July. This is the first time I’ve picked a location, booked a hotel and organized the travel on my own. My friends and I are going without a ‘real’ adult so we wanted to learn some basic safety tips before we go. Below I’ve included my top ten ways to stay safe while traveling for vacation.

1. Pay attention to the weather forecast for your destination. This is just a good idea in general, especially if you’re going somewhere to lay out in the sun.

2. Know the types of storms that occur at your vacation destination and learn techniques to stay safe in the different types of storm. You can find disaster tips for all types of storms here.

3. Carry a Disaster Supply Kit in your trunk. If an accident occurs, you will be prepared. Every car should at least have a First Aid Kit, it’s a necessity!

4. Make sure a friend or relative knows your destination, your route and when you expect to arrive. I always call my Sister when I’ve arrived to my destination and if I forget, she will call me to make sure I’m okay. Everyone needs a backup.  If your car breaks down or you are injured, help can be sent along your predetermined route.

5. Make frequent pit-stops. If that means grabbing a snack or taking a pee break, it is always a good idea to take breaks from driving so that everyone stays alert.

6. Avoid driving long periods of time at night. The roads are dark making it dangerous since it is hard to see. People also get sleepy and unable to focus on the road.

7. Don’t drink and drive! It is vacation and everyone is trying to cut loose but wait until you are at your vacation destination for Pete’s sake!

8. Don’t let your gas tank get too low. Not only is it a nuisance to have your car run out of gas but it is also dangerous. If you do experience car trouble, move your car as far as possible off the highway.

9. Use Caution in Construction Work Zones. Thank goodness for technology because different online maps provide information on the locations of Work Zones and how to avoid them.

10. Last but definitely not least, have fun! In my opinion, if spirits are high and the company is relaxed, vacation time always runs smoother and safer.

I hope those of you enjoy your vacations and if you’re staying home this summer, these safety tips can apply to any car travel. So stay safe and have fun in the sun this summer! This is Emma Headley signing out.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Ways to Stay Safe While Traveling for Vacation

Leave a Reply

